Some people think that cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe that this is the only way to save such traditions in the world today.

Some people argue that once cultural traditions are employed to make money, they are ruined. However, others hold the opposite view that it is the only means to protect these traditions from extinction in current world. From my perspective, I think that commercializing cultural traditions is one effective way to promote them, but we should not forget the true meaning of the traditions. It is true that making cultural traditions profitable can increase public attention to the traditions, so an increasing number of visitors would develop better understanding of the traditions. For example, with the commercialization of Christmas festival, more and more non-Christians around the world enjoy celebrating the festivals, making Christmas a global appeal. Additionally, only when cultural traditions make money would businessmen promote them. In this materialistic world, few people would care ancient traditions if they do not bring economic benefits to their lives. Therefore, making some traditions money-making inspires businessmen to promote the traditions voluntarily. However, adapting the traditions only for commercial purpose should not be encouraged. Over-commercialization would change the true meaning of the traditions. For instance, with the commercialization of Spring Festival, more and more Chinese merchants see this festival as a perfect time to expand sales instead of promoting the cultural meaning along with the festival. Besides, there are other useful ways of protecting cultural heritage as well, including holding cultural tradition contest, developing relevant culture courses in school, and so forth. Therefore, commercializing traditional culture is not the only way to promote it. In conclusion, I believe we should find the balance between tourism development and the protection of cultural traditions. Developing tourism can attract more people to understand the culture, while it is not the only way to do so.