Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

I agree with the question statement to a great extent. I believe that teenagers should be required to do volunteer work in their leisure time in their community. This would have a number of positive effects as it would benefit the teenagers and their neighbourhood simultaneously. Overall, a sense of caring and productive use of teenager’s schedule would be seen. To begin with, teenagers would spend some hours from their schedule doing righteous and virtuous work instead of playing video games and wasting their time on other activities. This would greatly impact their personality and they would develop a sense of kindness and care towards other people. For example, if the teenagers help people around them in need of moral and emotional support; this would be a source of self-contentment for them. Moreover, it would inculcate a feeling of empathy towards the needy people. In addition to the impact of this on the teenagers themselves, it would also create a good impression and a sense of unity and harmony in the local neighbourhood. Thus, people would develop a notion that others around them care and respect them. To be particular, it would help older people who have difficulty in carrying out their chores. Consequently, the aged would transfer their experience and knowledge to the teenagers which would be very beneficial for them. Concluding the discussion, I would like to suggest that schools should adopt this approach in their curriculum for teenagers to spend their time doing community service. This would not only benefit a particular person, but the community as a whole.