Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison so as to reduce the crime rate

In recent days, many people explain that the time in prison should be increased in order to limit the crime rate. In my opinion, this way is effective to deter more cases but in some aspects, it seems not so effective or other measures are also appropriate for each situation. On the one hand, some people suggest extending imprison time for crimes for deterrent effect. Spending more time behind the metal bars may let crimes recognize and also regret about their fault in the past. Consequently, most of them may be aware of not repeating criminal after their times are expired, so we can inhibit a large number of crimes. Moreover, if the time in prison becomes longer, the staffs can apply more methods to improve prisoners’ awareness and rehabilitate them. As a result crime repeating tendency can be reduced, currently these ex-prisoners tell to community about their experience so as to discourage people commit a crime. On the other hands, this method may not effective for some circumstances. For example, many mafia have a tendency of continue their criminal career after they are released. In some cases, we need more stringent methods. For instance, some felonies like murder, drugs trading are really dangerous to the society and there are less hope to reform them so many countries tend to give them capital punishment instead of life imprisonment for deterrent effect. In conclusion, giving more time for crimes in prison is good idea to reduce more cases, but we need more strict techniques in some situations.