Some people think that cooking is an important skill for young people to learn. Others believe that it is better for people to learn how to cook after they become adults.

Nowadays, both children and parents have a hectic pace of life so it can be hard for the young to learn the skills required to make a meal. However, I believe kids should be taught to cook at an early age as opposed to waiting until adulthood. Many children have a keen interest in food and do not want to rely on their parents for everything. At a young age, it’s a good idea for kids to develop knowledge of food. In this way they will make more informed choices about what they eat and they may refuse junk food which is a popular meal choice in the schoolyard. Additionally, if children are taught to cook they will be more independent and will be able to prepare healthy meals for themselves at times when their parents are too busy with work. There are few people who believe children should only focus on the study and that cooking can be quite dangerous. These parents are quite obsessed with their children’s academic records and want them to only focus on schoolwork. However, in the long run surely it is more important to develop skills that can help you live a healthy life than to do well on one exam. Also, while kitchens can be scary places with knives and fire, if parents are responsible and give supervision to their kids, then cooking will not be a dangerous activity. To conclude, it’s clear that while the importance of study and the dangers of cooking shouldn’t be overlooked, they can both be managed and children should be able to develop their own independence and cooking skills.