Some people think that cities are the best places to live Others prefer to live in a rural area Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside

Humans have been damaging the climate ever since we realised our powers to harness nature. Global warming and air pollution are now frequent headlines on TV and in the newspapers all over the world, which keep reminding us of our obligation to protect the setting. However, few actions are actually being taken at the individual level, and I think there are two major reasons why people are being so indifferent. The first reason is that people consider the environmental problems as a future concern. Environmental reports often warn us of the dire consequences of climate change or energy crisis 100 or 200 years later. As a result, many people feel that money and time are better spent on solving more immediate problems such as housing shortage and traffic congestion than on preventing a disaster that is only predicted to happen in the future. Also, people feel that environmental problems are too complex for individual people to cope with. Indeed, a combination of factors causes environmental problems, many of which are impossible to be controlled through individual actions. The above attitudes are understandable, but are obviously mistaking, so the government needs to take proactive measure to make people more environmentally reasonable. They can make more public service advertisements to encourage people to consume more green products instead of disposable goods that are harmful to the climate. They can also offer more incentives to peop6 who have been active in cleaning up the neighbourhood or severely punish those who have been unfriendly to the setting. There is always s dilemma between surroundings and development. Certainly, we don't want to see the Earth turn into an uninhabitable planet.