Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

In this era of globalisation, the world has witnessed a paradigm shift in migrating and these days more rural inhabitants are becoming city dwellers. Choosing a place to live has been a matter of great concern from the time of antiquity. Urbanisation, being the buzzword of the day, few among the mass believe that urban sector forms the ideal place to thrive, whereas others favour rural life. Let us discourse below the pros and cons of life in a city to that of a countryside. The recent advancements in technology comfort the urban lifestyle in numerous ways. Means of transport and communication are explicit in cities compared to that of villages. Moreover, urban industries and companies offer huge opportunities to professionals and entrepreneurs. The younger generations prefer to live in the midst of city life and luxury rather than to be in a countryside. Another important aspect in this context would be the sea change in the medical field that happened in last few years, many of these advanced facilities are readily available only in cities. In addition to all these, city has become a social hub of the elite and affluent hence one could enjoy the privilege of being in acquaintance with them. To cite an example, one would find celebrities and politicians on the social clubs or parties, rather than a countryside’s get together. As it is being noted,   reasons are aplenty for one's decision to choose city over a village  to lead a life in the present scenario, another among them which needs a special mention here is in the quality of education that city offers. It is believed that education liberates people from social stigmas. An urban life on a global perspective is always coupled with well organised and qualified educational system compared to the rural side. A city would be a favourite place to find efficient schools, universities and research centres when weighed against a village side. On the contrary, rural lifestyle bestows one's closeness to nature and is free from the hazards of urbanisation. Health wise, rural inhabitants are less exposed to various environmental hazards, like pollution for instance. Moreover, the tranquillity maintained along the countryside is another positive feature of rural habitation. Finally, the family and social bonds in villages are known to be more concrete. Separations on basis of urban gizmos like communalism and social status are seldom there. In the ultimate analysis, from the above discussion, it would be ideal to state that both urban and rural habitation has its merits and demerits, however, choosing a place to live should be prioritized on individual requirements, an ideal exemplification would be that of an IT professional who should become a part of a city for his career betterment, whereas a farmer, would fit in a rural sector to prosper. Being a part of an urban society since childhood, I would like to be in the same boat for the rest of my journey.