Some people think that children should start school at the age of six or seven while others think that children should start school as young as possible.

There are some people who believe that formal schooling should begin early in childhood, on the other hand, others argue that children should attend school at the age of six or seven. In my opinion, it is better to start formal schooling at an early age. Some people believe that children should stay at home until they are six or seven years old. This idea is based on the belief that parents are children's best early teachers. Parents’ interaction with them can build their confidence, stimulate their language development and encourage them to solve problems creatively. It can also be argued that some children are not mature enough for school before the age of six or seven. If they attend school too early, they may develop behaviour problems such as being easily distracted and breaking school rules. Other people, including many parents, believe that an earlier school starting age is beneficial to children's later development. They argue that children's need for social relationships is no less than that of adults. Human beings are social by nature. Children should begin to develop their social skills through the communication with their peers and their teachers as early as possible. After the age of three when young children can generally understand adults’ instructions, they should go to school and become socialised. Also, it is reasonable that children start receiving systematically-planned education earlier in an age of information explosion when people need to gain much more knowledge than people did in the past. My own view is that with a more relaxed and understanding classroom atmosphere, school life should start as early as possible, which makes children better prepared for future competition in many areas.