Some people say that children should go to school as young as possible, while others believe that children should not start primary school until they are six or seven-years-old.

There is a discussion about when to send children to school is most appropriate. While some insist that children should be educated at school as soon as possible, others oppose this suggestion, believing the school starting age of children should not be earlier than six or seven. I agree with the latter view as it is more reasonable in terms of guaranteeing a healthy growth for children. Those who advocate early school education cite two critical benefits: brain development and improvement of social skills. Some research indicates that being exposed to subjects containing basic reasoning such as maths at a much younger age can contribute to the development of children’s intelligence. This can give children an advantage in the later study of other more sophisticated classes. Also, studying at school before six is believed to be useful at cultivating social skills. Children can learn to communicate with their peers and acquire some primitive tactics of breeding friendship and initiating cooperation. However, others are convinced that children who are under six or seven years old should spend time playing instead of sitting in the classroom. Some renowned psychologists have confirmed that childhood before this age is a golden period for children to build their perceptions of this world, and playing is one of the most effective strategies to achieve this. Early education may deprive children of such precious opportunity. Another significant reason is that many children under six or seven years old may not have been able to understand the content of classes and possibly suffer tediousness or even frustration. In my view, although it is possible to stimulate children’s brain development and foster their social abilities through studying at school at a very young age, this approach may cause negative repercussions, including the disturbance in establishing the recognition of the world and unnecessary dullness and pressure. So, I feel that children ought not to attend primary school too early.