Some people think that children should not watch television as it has negative effects while some people believe that they should watch television as it helps them in their future.

It is commonly believed that watching television has negative implications on young ones, however, opponents have counter-view that watching TV brings many benefits to them as it is a nice pass time as well as a source of information for them. I completely agree with the latter view of the given statement. This essay will discuss the arguments of both sides and will give relevant examples to support my opinion. To begin with, some individuals say that television set has manifold detrimental effects on children such as poor health. If they watch television for a long period of time, it will weaken their eyesight and deform their body shape as well because of long sitting hours. For instance, a recent survey in the UK revealed that nearly 60 percent of youngsters prefer to watch television instead of playing outdoor games, and they are frequently suffering from sundry physical illnesses. Therefore, television is not a suitable option to be considered for children as a leisure activity. On the contrary, television helps young minds to broaden their horizon. There are many educational programs broadcasted on television that stimulate children to learn something new and implement in their studies. To exemplify, Discovery and National geography are the most popular television channels among children to learn about nature, the universe, history and science. Hence, If children watch television for a designated period of time, it will ameliorate their performance in academics. To conclude, although television has some serious negative consequences for children’s physical health, under proper surveillance they would get the benefits in their studies and avoid getting addicted to television. The onus is on the parents and teachers to bring these benefits to adolescents