Some people think that children should learn to read from traditional paper books, while others feel that it is fine to start the reading process on an e-reader (like a Kindle or iPad).

With the help of technology, we have shifted from paper books to e-book readers. Some are of the opinion that youngsters should read from paperback, on the contrary, others are of the opinion that using technology in learning through new age gadgets such as Kindle or iPad is better. In my view, we should use the technology to teach our children in schools. The supporters of traditional reading material argue that it is better in the long term for young people. While studying one has to concentrate hard on the book, reading on paper book make no or very less strain on their eyes. In contrast, reading on e-book reader for a long time that has blue lite, is not good for their health. If we insist our children to go for this new technology, it will surely effect on their vision in long run. On the other hand, I argue that we should shift from paper based to e- reading for its numerous benefits. Although using an iPad is not so healthy for a child, if used in moderation and with precautions it is a useful technology. It creates more interest in reading and because it is interactive they learn with fun. For example, my four year old niece is more interested in my iPad, whenever she gets a chance to have it, she opens up her favourite lesson and try to learn it. with its benefits it is better for new age children to make use of this technology. In conclusion, reading through traditional method has its own charm, at the same time I side with the 21st century new age reading material through which a child can learn with interest.