Some people think that children should be taught how to cook and grow food at school.

It is commonly believed by many that the youngsters should learn skills related to cooking and farming at the young age. This essay completely agrees with the above statement and will suggest that learning cooking at the earlier age can teach children to stay independent. Likewise, awareness of farming can help children to understand the importance of food. To begin with, those who opine that the kids should be taught farming skills in the childhood can easily point its importance in the real life. That is to say, it is essential for the youngsters to understand the hard work involved in growing food, starting from sowing a seed and then providing essential fertilisers and pesticides for their proper growth, followed by watering it every day until it is ready to eat. As a result, they will understand the value of the food and will consider before wasting it. For instance, according to the recent research conducted by the New York Times, kids born and brought in rural areas are less likely to waste food as compared to the urban kids because they know the dedication involved in growing food and therefore understand its value. Furthermore, learning cooking skills in the earlier age for children is advantageous because it not only gives them the ability to cook food independently, but also allows them to stay away from the junk food. In other words, one has to cook food in the life, regardless of achieving the optimal level of success and it would be easy if they have the prior knowledge of cooking food. Additionally, if a person has an experience of cooking, he can cook even if he is sitting in the other part of the world, which reduces the chances of intake of already cooked frozen food. Thus, cooking skills are long term skills and will always help an individual to eat freshly cooked homemade healthy food. To conclude, I believe children should learn cooking and farming skills at the young age as it helps them to understand the importance of wasting food along with making them independent.