Some people think that children need to study in an environment where they have to compete with each other. Others, however, believe that teamwork is more important.

It is argue that whether schoolchidren should study in the highly competitive environment. While many individuals believe that competing with others would benefit children in many circumstances, I would argue that cooperative environment is better for chidren themselves. On the one hand, there are various reasons why teenagers should learn in the competitive classroom. Firstly, thanks to this environment, children could be encouraged to make great strides in their study so as to become the high achievers. As a result, some top classmates would be recognized and given to specialised classes to nurture their academic ability. In my high school, for example, students often take examination during the term to classify those gifted students and give them to the extra classes to take national competitions. Secondly, the competitive environment could expose children to the real world, where they have to compete with others. If, for instance, youngsters are taught to compete, then they will have a wealth of experience and easily find a job in the intensely competitive society. On the other hand, I strongly agree with those people who believe that collaborative learning could result in more favourable outcomes. The first reason is that teamwork spirit is of paramount importance for schoolchildren in the classroom context because it allows them to make the most of each member strengths and minimize weaknesses. Consequently, productivity could be promoted and individual student would identify and overcome their own weaknesses. Furthermore, cooperative environment could foster social solidarity, which is vitally important for student future career seeing that each team project in company would always be assigned in group instead of just one member. In conclusion, it seems to me that collaboration between students brings more benefits, although competitive environment also stand students in good stead to some extent.