TOEFL Independent Writing Task - IIQuestion: People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. B

I agree with the statement that people would be benefitted more if they travelled within their own country because it gives a very good opportunity to understand and see our own country and understand the cultures and traditions from different regions of a country. This helps us to build tolerance, respect, and mutual admiration about our own people who are needed the most at the time of trouble or problems in our country. First of all, domestic travel is a great way to support our internal economy and to make sure that tourism thrives in our country. Because of the increased travel within the country, the local communities get support from their own countrymen who visit them. This in turn, ensures that tour guides, shops selling handicrafts and souvenirs do not have to depend on rich foreigners. Therefore, it augurs very well for the people engaged in tourism. Similarly, the domestic travel can be made cheaper for the visitors. As they are in their own country, they will have a general sense of costs; security, transportation etc. and the travellers need not worry about many things. In my opinion, it helps to ensure the mental peace to the travellers. Secondly, while travelling in foreign countries, we may see many new things but we may not be able to remember them all for a long time because some of the exotic things may be unrelated to our lives. Sometimes, it is difficult to appreciate and make sense of some of the foreign arts, or culture as they are completely new to us. For example, some of the traditions followed by tribal or native people from another country may not make any sense to a foreign visitor. In such situations, the whole trip may be boring and unexciting and the traveller may not be able to enjoy at all. In contrast to that, we tend to understand and relate many things from our own country. That’s why travelling within one’s own country can be more enjoyable, and exciting. In my conclusion, I would like to state that travellers can benefit a lot by travelling within their country as they get an excellent opportunity to witness some of the pearls from their own country and chance to make their travelling memorable.