Some people think that changing jobs periodically is good. What is your opinion?

Once endemic in western countries, now it is commonplace for job holders in many parts of the world to switch jobs. In spite of some relative merits of job-hopping, I maintain this put an individual at a significant disadvantage. A new job may bring about the change a person desperately needs in their career. First, an employee, having worked in the same position for a year or two, often starts to feel the sheer boredom of performing routine tasks day in day out and seek even a slight chance to break the habits. For many, this means a complete waste of their talents and time. The lethal combination of boredom and lack of prosperity push them towards venturing out, back to the job-seeking battlefield. A toxic work environment, constant conflict with colleagues, or a tyrant boss may also tip the person to the brink of jumping from the current job. Job-hopping, meanwhile, can be the answer for such employee’s prayers. Plus, a job-hopper stands a better chance of getting promoted and receiving a salary raise, which seems more likely rather from within. Furthermore, job-hoppers have the privilege to expand their career experience and foster their abilities, both soft and technical, as they are exposed to a larger variety of business environment and duties. This in turn not only adds more bullet points in their resume, but creates the impression of being well-experienced while applying for a job. On the flip side, however, changing from job to job does have its downside. Firstly, most employers, while recruiting, frown upon job applicants whose resume signals they are not going to stay put, labeling them as disloyal and unreliable. They prefer to hire someone who is expected to hold the position long enough to justify the effort of recruitment; a person who truly belongs, not a curious visitor who tends to jump off the ship in case of trouble. Second, switching jobs periodically, a job holder often fails to build in-depth knowledge, mostly touching on different areas and skills. Although in some business this may be regarded as an advantage, in many more, nonetheless, it has adverse effects on the employee’s career. In conclusion, while changing regularly from job to job may have potential benefits for a job applicant mainly through expanding knowledge and experience, not knowing the time to cease job-hopping will spill the end of one’s otherwise thriving career.