In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e. g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e. g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

The debate weather this tendency of girls to prefer art subjects and boys to prefer science subjects should be changed has become a matter of discussion among many. Personally, I believe this tendency should be changed. In this essay, I shall be providing arguments and examples to support my view and discuss the reasons behind it. To begin with, the main reason behind such discriminative preferences among boys and girls is the pressure from the parents. For example, even today in some countries people still believe that women should refrain from jobs that are usually precieved as manly, and often applying the same belief on their childern. This leads to girls choosing only a certain type of career in early stages. In addition, statistics have shown that a large percentage of companies usually hire females for non-technical jobs, this leads to smaller number of vacancies available for females in technical based jobs. Such scarsity of employment in scientific field is another reason for girls seeking career in arts subjects. Moreover, changing such tendencies is necessary and could prove to be beneficial to many girls. For example, many girls who are intrested in making a career in science, will no longer feel pressurised from family and friends to make different decision. Furthermore, as more girls are encouraged to explore various career options in scientific field, this could leads to creating higher job opportunities. In conclusion, I firmly believe that girls should be encouraged to change their older tendency and seek more career options. In future, we can expect to see improvement, as our society becomes more aware of such underlying social issues.