Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

It is thought that some particular criminals should undertake community service instead of imprisonment. In my point of view, I believe that doing community work is the most appropriate punishment for offenders in certain cases. To begin with, non-paying job should be entitled to people especially minors who commit an insignificant crime. Such jobs act as a more effective deterrent than prison since the criminals just need a short interval of time to improve their behavior and the lengthy prison sentence is not suitable. For example, when the offenders are convicted to steal modest objects like a watch, a bag, small quantity of money and so on, the jury can tackle the case by giving them hours doing community services. Besides, the individuals who just steal few things often have acceptable manner and their guilty action is usually temporary. Therefore, works which benefit the society should be handled by them. Apparently, unpaid work is the best option to solve the minor case so that the society is enhanced and the criminals are justifiably punished at the same time. Secondly, another advantage of prisoners doing community service is that it prevents over-crowed offenders in local prison. Since the crime is increasing dramatically in the present time, more and more guilty people are put in prison. In that case, a court of law will chose to sentence the criminals by giving them non-paying jobs instead of incarceration. Moreover, this measure taken by the jury can also reduce lack of supervision in prison as well as avoid locating minor criminals in and harsh and detrimental prison environment. Due to such advantages, it is undeniable that the community work policy for the minor prisoners works very effectively. In summary, community services are considered as the more proper way to punish slightly guilty prisoners rather than imprison them in some particular cases.