“Some people say that in all levels of education too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. ”

Apart from covering the essay (which was quite interesting), you are addressing a topic that has bothered me for a while now. Too many people online claims to be tutors for exams such as IELTS, TOEFL or any level of the Cambridge Certificate Exams, yet they teach imprecise or even wrong information about the tests. I feel like many mock tests are scored too high on YouTube to attract an audience by claiming to show an example of a band 8 or 9 examinations though clearly not been on this level. I do not say that only native speakers should teach English (or any other language) but I also noticed quite some IELTS teachers who offer advice on how to get a high band score, although although they'd - judging on how they express themselves in these videos - would hardly reach one themselves. I do not want to bad mouth anyone but I'm afraid that many students are too reliant on these people. Back in school, one of my English teachers wasn't really good at all, neither at teaching nor when it came to anything related to the English language. (Everyone knew that her passion was Spanish and she only taught English because teachers must do two subjects here in Germany. ) So I possess first-hand knowledge that bad pronunciation, grammar, intonation and poor choice of words do not only rub off on students but also give a wrong estimate on ones own abilities. I feel sorry for these people who compare themselves to wrongly marked mock tests and end up going into the real exams with a wrong expectation only to end up disappointed when they get their results.