Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

It is considered by some that all offenders should receive custodial sentences, while there are others who think that certain offenders can volunteer for the community as punishments. In my opinion, I completely agree with the latter opinion for two reasons. Firstly, punishment by doing community work can help the government solve the prison overcrowding problem and reduce the high cost of imprisonment. Particularly, not all offenders are same, some people commit minor crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocketing, while others commit serious crimes such as premeditated murder or rape. If all lawbreakers receive custodial sentences, it will not have sufficient space in prison for them. Instead, if the government can classify prisoners and let non-dangerous prisoners do volunteer work for the community, it can reduce the prison population and cost. Secondly, doing unpaid community services is an effective way to reform offenders. Specifically, it is indisputable that community work provides the opportunity for offenders to pay back the society and assist in their rehabilitation by developing and improving work-related skills. Indeed, offenders given work opportunities and skills are less likely to reoffend. Notably, community work can increase offenders’ self-esteem and well-being and give their lives new purpose and direction. Furthermore, clarifying low-risk prisoners and let them work for the community can reduce inmate idleness and avoid the negative influence of high-risk criminals. In conclusion, the benefits of community-based punishments are too great to ignore. It not only helps the government tackle the prison overcrowding problems and its detrimental effects, but also helps offenders make a fresh start in their life.