Some people think that cars should be banned from large cities.

Two common problems usually faced by a big city - traffic jam and air pollution, which are caused by many factors. However, most people tend to blame a large number of private cars as the greatest contributing factor which leads to the some people’s opinion claiming that the cars must be prohibited in the town. Although this statement seems plausible, I totally disagree that this kind of vehicle should be banned from the metropolis. The cars are not only beneficial for the citizen as a user but also for the state, in increasing its income. If the existence of the cars in the large city is forbidden by the government, there will not be car trade in that town which consequently will reduce total sales of cars nationwide. This finally will decrease nation's earning because car companies will drop their production for that country and the tax revenue from the car sales will diminish automatically. Furthermore, this will also reduce annual car-tax revenue in which for some countries, this kind of tax is their main earning source. On the other hand, this will cause another problem, for the car owners in particular, in which the government should be involved to overcome this problem. By banning the use of cars in the big city, cars owned by the city inhabitants will be useless and eventually they must sell their cars because this can harm them financially. If we look at the large total number of cars must be sold and the fact that the owners do not want to sell their cars at a lower price, this might be a difficult problem to be solved. Finally, a huge budget must be allocated to improve the alternative vehicles in the city and many countries will not be able to eventually do it successfully. The car is considered as one of the most useful inventions ever and banning them is not a pragmatic solution. We should rather take alternative initiatives to reduce the traffic jam and air pollution in big cities. Personally, I strongly believe that prohibiting people to drive cars in big cities will generate some problems both for the state and the owners. Even though the cars contribute to the occurrence of traffic jam and air pollution in some cities, it must be the other ways to combat those problems without banning the existence of cars, such as creating underground transportation and green energies as a car fuel.