More and more people these days work harder and longer hours and have no time for family life and friends. What are the causes in your opinion for this? How is it affecting family life and the society as a whole?

Nowadays, people are working harder than ever and have longer working hours. This kind of living has negatively affected their family and social life. There are several factors that cause the situation and the following essay will discuss them in details. For a number of reasons, people in general work harder these days, as it can be seen from their long working hours. Firstly, it is due to the tough working competition these days. For a single job position, hundreds of people are competing and the private organisations are firing employees due to performance issue all the time. Further, as business has become more competitive, many companies have set a bigger target, a tighter budget and stricter deadlines. Consequently, the work volume has become higher and employees need to spend more time for completing their works. Secondly, it is believed that we are living in the materialistic and hedonic world nowadays. People are respected based on their assets, position and power and therefore a lot of people chose to focus on their career and work overtime. As people choose to spend more hours in their workplace, it has negatively affected their family and social life. One of the cases is that many parents abandon their children as they are busy working. Some of the children feel ignored by their parents and this has a serious psychological effect, while other children become addicted to video games or even drugs. In another case, it is reported that long working hours have affected to the divorce rate. Many young couples chose to focus on their careers and have less time for their spouse. As a result, both of them lack the proper communication and relationship which are crucial for maintaining a happy and healthy relationship. Furthermore, the family tie is not as strong as it used to be and this is a serious issue that our society is facing these days. People have a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diets due to their busy corporate life. They have little time for exercise or outdoor activities and this is degrading the overall health of people. In conclusion, it is true that people have become more ambitious with their careers these days, as they spend longer hours at work. On the one hand, I could understand the situation as business competition has become tighter and some people want to maintain their lifestyle. However, many people do not realise that it has some negative effects on their family and social life. Many of their children have become depressed and the divorce rate has increased rapidly in the past few years. Therefore I personally believe that we should have a balanced life between works and family.