Some people claim that there are different ways of saving energy (electricity and gas), such as using energy for a shorter period of time in the workplace and not using electricity / gas once a week.

In today's modern world, non-renewable energy is still an essential part of life. Across the globe, electricity and gas are used by almost every house to big industries. Although I believe that energy wastage should be minimised, I refute that we should simply cut down the use of energy for the essential purposes based on a timetable. The base for my views would be personal and professional. From a professional perspective, electricity and gas are an invaluable resource to run a simple gadget like computers to more complex machines like cranes. For instance, if we plan to switch off electricity at our work area once in a week, definitely a majority of the people will be idle, as most of the companies run based on computers. Moreover, if we try to save the energy when it is really needed, precious time of the employees working on electronic devices will be wasted. Therefore, it is essential to ensure that energy is available during the work hours. We should research and invest in producing better energy source rather than cutting the power for a day in a week. The world has become very competitive and imposing a restriction on the working hours in office would simply reduce the productivity of a country. From a personal point of view, energy is mandatory to charge personal gadgets like mobile phones to stay connected with the world. For example, if there is no power and the battery charge of the mobile phone is almost finishing, then the mobile will be turned off. In addition to that, a switched off smartphone not only cuts off phone calls but also disconnects from social media as there is no internet connectivity. Thus, it is obvious that electricity should not be cut off or reduced based on a time table. In most of the major cities gas is used for cooking, hence not using it for a day would mean that we would need to buy foods from restaurants or fast food shops which are not only expensive but also harmful for health. In conclusion, by analysing how much essential is energy and gas in our day to day life, it is very much important that energy is available when required. As nonrenewable energy is precious, steps need to taken, so that they are not wasted. But not using it is not the proper way.