Some people think that cars should be banned from large cities.

There is a dramatic increase in private transportation around the globe over the last few years. Increased wages, economic prosperity and depletion in vehicle prices made easy for people to have their own personal car. However, this has led to various detrimental issues including congestion, pollution and safety. For those reasons, I believe that limiting the number of cars in bigger cities could mitigate those problems. Completely banning cars in big cities is not a plausible solution as it is unrealistic, however, restricting the number of such private cars would be an effective solution indeed. Nowadays, traffic contributed a lot in widespread of pollution. Car smoke, traffic jams and loud horns of vehicles are few reasons that significantly affect the environment and people in many ways. People are more vulnerable to various diseases and many have serious health issues due to pollution. In order to tackle this issues, restriction on private car ownership should be imposed. Not allowing people to drive their cars in big cities is not possible while it is much reasonable to restrict the number of cars a family can own, the number of minimum passenger on each car while driving would be the two pragmatic solutions. Additionally, in order to combat with traffic congestion, new road infrastructure have been introduced by various nations that include deforestation to acquire more space to build new roads, modern bridges and pedestrian pathways. Those development works could destroy the natural habitat of various species that could lead towards the extinction of them from various countries. Nevertheless, prudent decisions should be taken to enhance the number of roads without doing any harm to the natural environment. On the other hand, personal vehicles are more convenient and safer than other means of transportation. This is not surprising that people often feel more comfortable and relaxed while driving their cars. Completely banning the use of private cars in cities would deprive people to travel freely and according to their own preference. To sum up, controlling and restricting vehicles in large cities would definitely play a pivotal role in improving people’s health and would also help in controlling factors that are the cause of deteriorating situation of the environment. But banning the private cars completely in big cities is not a pragmatic solution in my opinion.