Waste disposal problems are increasing especially in urban areas. Suggest what government and individuals should do to help reduce the amount of rubbish production and disposal of it.

Due to the rapid industrialisation throughout the 21st century, a lot of people have migrated to cities seeking for a better life. The drastic increase in the urban population engenders a series of issues. Waste management is one of the key problems faced by almost all cities across the globe. Both the governments and citizens have to take effective steps to minimise the trash produced every day in these cities. Firstly, governments of all countries need to relocate the industries which leave behind a myriad of byproducts to the countryside, either by limiting the license in cities or by providing subsidies. In addition to that, public waste management committee has to be in place, which would regularly check how the thrash is managed by the industries. For example, a few states in India are encouraging industries to set up their plant in remote areas by providing free land. Thus a major problem of waste management can be resolved. Secondly, the government has to ensure that efficient waste disposal mechanism is connected to every household. Each house needs to have an easy access to litter bins and they must be cleaned by the public body 3 to 4 times every day. Moreover, if any citizen violates this law by throwing the garbage in the public area, he or she should be penalised heavily. In the case of Singapore, every apartment has waste disposal area and which is cleaned thrice a day by the government. This mechanism makes the management of rubbish organised. Citizens should understand that they will ultimately face the problems if the garbage is not properly taken care of. They should take some responsibility to keep their living place and neighbourhood clean. In some cases, they should take the wastage to the waste disposal centre for recycling. Again, recycling and reusing products could be an effective way to tackle this issue. The country like Japan has been very successful in recycling and reusing the products and that had helped them to reduce the problem they had with the excessive wastage their citizens produce.   Recyclable products should be promoted so that rubbish creation can be minimised. Special concessions have to be given in supermarkets to promote customers to bring their own environment-friendly bags instead of polythene ones. This can be achieved by promoting the awareness sessions in the social media websites like Facebook and government advertisements in televisions. Usage of recyclable ensures that waste can be minimised. In conclusion, the entire community has to take a lot of steps in tackling the waste management. Once the thrash is organised well, the human life expectancy is predicted to go up as we support a greener environment.