More and more people these days work harder and longer hours and have no time for family life and friends. What are the causes in your opinion for this? How is it affecting family life and the society as a whole?

In this highly competitive world, people have been spending a significant amount of time at their workplaces. It is true that most of the working people do not have social and family lives due to their hectic life. In this essay, I would like to discuss various aspects of the topic and try to reach a conclusion according to my perspective. To commence with, in this globalised world, most of the companies and their workers have to face an international competition in the market which makes their work harder and tougher. To make it clear, it is evident that most of the international firms are technologically and ideally advanced so it has become necessary to work overtime with dedications to compete with those companies. Furthermore, nowadays, daily expenses of a family has been rising day-by-day, such as the money spent on groceries, petroleum and so on. In this context, it is hard for a man to run a family with a single job or regular working hours so they are forced to work more. More importantly, unemployment has resulted in minimising wages of most of the works. To exemplify, in India, a nurse's monthly salary is 100 dollar, it is impossible for them to live with this small amount and that’s why the nurse needs to work extra hours and even in days off to earn a bit more. On the other hand, the platform of family life is interaction, socialisation and communication. When family members do not have enough time to interact each other, there will form a communication gap among them and that ultimately affect family relation. Moreover, as most of the people in a society over work and when they do not have sufficient time for interaction and exchange of ideas. It is evident that, unless the co-operation of society, there will not be an effective development in society. To conclude, in my opinion, increased workforce and overtime have badly affected the social and family life of people. Even there are laws which say about minimum working hours of employees, many workers are forced to work over time. Hence, the government and authorities should take initiatives to come with a solution to this problem.