Some people think that cars are the best way to travel in a city, while others think that bicycle is better.

People use various modes of transport to travel within a city. While some believe that a car is more convenient mode to do so, others feel that a bicycle is more efficient. I think that both the modes have some advantages and drawbacks, therefore one should choose depending on the distance which need to be covered. On the one hand, people who choose a car over a bicycle might argue that it is a faster mode of transport; hence it can help in saving a lot of time if a person needs to travel from one edge of the city to another. On the contrary, two wheelers are slower and are not fit for longer distances. For instance, one of my relatives lives around 10 kilometres away from my place. If I take a two-wheeler to reach there, it takes me around 1 hour to do so, but if I opt for a four-wheeler instead, I can reach there in approximately 30 minutes. Additionally, the cars can accommodate more people than a cycle. Therefore, if a family wants to travel together, cars are definitely a better option. On the other hand, cycles are environmentally friendly as they do not cause any air pollution, but cars emit carbon footprints. A recent survey conducted by the transport department of India concluded that if all the cars are replaced by bicycles, the air quality could be dramatically improved. Subsequently, bicycles are more cost effective and low maintenance as compared to the cars as they do not require a fuel refill and any frequent services. For example, a person who owns a bicycle can save up to 85% of the amount that is spent by a car owner on the maintenance of his vehicle. In conclusion, some people choose cars because they are faster mode of transport to be used in a city, other feel that bicycles are more environmentally efficient and can also save a lot of money. But I feel that both have some plus and minus; therefore for long distances cars should be used and cycles can be used for short distances.