Some people think that books should be stopped in school and that videos films and computers should be used instead

People today have a large number of options available to read and view content ranging from the old method of reading from books to advancement to tablets, television, and computers. The easy access to information on these new platforms has led some people to believe that schools should replace textbooks with videos, films, and computers. I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will elaborate upon the reasons for disapproval; followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, books are a child’s best friends. They provide fodder for young minds. Reading books have many advantages and parents through ages have acknowledged the importance of books in developing a child’s reading and speaking abilities. In addition to this, reading fiction books help in raising imagination and creative thinking. For Instance, our childhood was made special by colorful collection of bedtime story books which would help us imagine the fictional world of Cinderella and Snow-white. Moreover, it is also argued that books also bring disciple and sense of ownership as we take pride in maintaining their state and ostensibly displays a large collection of these in our personal libraries. People who argue to replace books with modern technologies sound imprudent. The fig leaf of acquaintance with modern technology is not suitable for youngsters who may fall addicted to them. Replacing reading books with watching content on films and computers will have a detrimental effect on a child’s reading abilities and imagination power. This new approach if introduced would also wean away children’s interest in reading books at a later stage of life. Moreover, prolonged exposure to computer and television screens have a negative effect on eyes and mind. Additionally, there is a vast adulterated content on the internet that can be easily accessed, and parents may later find themselves helpless to block this content from the child’s reach. To conclude, modern technologies have their own benefits and have positively touched upon a million lives, but they should not be allowed to replace old traditional methods whose success is undebated. Let books be the first friend of a child and a window to the repository of knowledge.