Essay topics: The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership an

Today, stepping out of the house without the car waiting at the doorstep has become unthinkable. The dependancy has increased exponentially now than when the cars first graced the British roads in 1888. By 2000 this number had been predicted to go up to 29 million. Yes the concerns about such a boom was realistic, and so skeptisism started fogging the ownership and usage of the cars by public. International laws to regulate this growth was also thought to be a solution. Possession and usage of cars is a matter of personal freedom, laws restricting the same will play havoc not only on the will of the people but will also affect the production, employment, thus decreasing the GDP of many countries, entire sections of the society would be devastated. Not to mention the distress, emergency situation crisis. and potential outrage that may be the end result of imposing such laws. No doubt, the increasing pollution and depletion of natural resources, like oil is a major concern to the world at the time, when global warming is the tragedy of the day. So yes, the people should be made aware of the harm that is occurring and the ways they can help to nullify or at least reduce the effect. Car pooling, encouraging other transport by discounting and easy availability will make the people consciously ditch the car occasionally and use other means. It will also give them a sense of accomplishment of trying to save the nature while having the security of their personal freedom of owning a car. it would be a win win situation if we convince the people to not entirely rely on their personal cars at all times, and to occasionally use public transport or other means to commute.