Some people think that books should be stopped in school and that videos films and computers should be used instead

Nowadays, every individual whether they are kid, teenager or grown ups, everyone wants to be independent and take every decision on their own without having any kind of hindrance from anyone. At the same time parents mostly think that their kids are not that capable to tackle their everyday life situations and make choices on their own, so they must intervene. More often than not parents tend to be very protective about their kids. It is their natural tendency to look into every matter concerning their child. This often results in kids being more dependent on their parents, thus hindering their overall development. The decision making capacity of children is mostly lower in case of parents who are involved in taking every decision for them. Such individuals often fail in choosing the right path for themselves, even when they grow up. For instance, if that kind of individual has to choose the subject he/she wants to pursue career in, rather than understanding their inclination towards particular subject and exploring their capabilities they would tend to go with what their parents think they should do which results in their failure in the long run. So it's always a good idea to let one decide what they are looking forward to then only they can succeed. However, at tender age people lack the experience and their thinking capacity too is not as efficient as elders, so parents should keep a watch on their siblings while they make important choices in their life. Teenagers have the tendency to be self centred, which is again not favourable for their surroundings and other people around them. For example, if anything like gambling or other unethical works provides them the happiness they would start doing that if no one would stop them from doing so, even without thinking about the consequences and how it will affect other people. So it becomes the moral responsibility of mature individuals to keep educating them and showing them the right path. It is my view that kids should be allowed to make choices in their day to day situations as it will prepare them for choosing between the major options in the long run. But parents should keep a watch on them and should inculcate moral values in them so that they can understand the difference between what is right and wrong for them and other people irrespective of whether it gives them happiness or not.