Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.

Subjects like Mathematics, Philosophy and others are compulsory subjects. The difficulty level of these are high as compared to some others, because of that some people think that these subjects should be optional rather than being compulsory. And personally I think these subjects should be a compulsory part of the syllabus. If any kid is facing problem in learning these topics, it’s because they are not working hard as compared to others, these courses are not difficult for everyone. Some of us are slow learner and there are others who can quickly grasp things. But our human mind is same for everyone, it’s just the thought process that differs among humans. Hard working and quick learning kids don’t face any issue relating to these topics. If these branches of studies are optional, most of the kids will choose to ignore them and future generations will be deprived of good scientists, mathematicians, doctors and engineers etc. May be the children are facing problems only at the initial stages, but with time, they can develop interests in subjects and they will achieve bigger things and our society as a whole will get benefits from this. Our educational culture should be systematic, if anyone facing trouble in adapting these subjects, teachers and parents should work with them and motivates them to face these, This will not only help them in studies but I will also a valuable life lesson. Because not everything is optional in life at some point we have to make tough life choices so this could be a practical lesson for them as well. I believe our education system, by keeping an eye on the future, should prepare them accordingly. If someone is not prepared for these difficulties, the extra effort needed to be done to make sure that these kids are ready to take whatever comes in front of them.