Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Recently, due to marketing and promotion, large businesses have attracted many people to buy their products. That phenomenon can bring some real problems, and several steps should be taken to encourage citizens to purchase local goods. There are some issues associated with buying products from large companies. One of these difficulties is that people tend to buy unnecessary goods because of marketing tricks like advertisement or promotion, which has probably exaggerated their value to make these products more appealing to customers. That phenomenon can potentially lead to overspending by purchasers, which might have serious effects on household finances. Another real problem is the risks of buying counterfeit goods due to brand imitation. Most products from popular brands are expensive due to a lot of business expenditures in these companies, but fake ones are usually sold for much lower prices. So, if people choose between two “identical” goods which have the same brand, they might buy the much-cheaper one, without notices to its quality. In order to tackle these problems, some measures could be taken into account to promote local goods. A possible solution is acquiring the promotional measures that have been successfully done by big companies, and making efforts to improve the qualities of domestic products. That method could potentially attract and create positive reputations for customers to consume local goods, which might lead to the ability to compete with other brands. Another measure that can probably work is the support from governments to encourage or introduce laws to make supermarkets sell more regional products and limit the imported brands. With that move, people would have more choices for local goods so that they could purchase more products that were locally manufactured. In conclusion, a trend of buying goods from large businesses has many risks, with some potential solutions to encourage domestic products.