Some people think that as long as these professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behaviour on and off playing fields are not important.

Famous athletes who are talented in their areas have a strong influence on the public especially the younger generation. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that the behaviour of sports players is not important and I believe that they should be self-disciplined both in and outside the game. In my opinion, behaving properly on the playground is of great importance to sport players’ safety. If sportsmen or sportswomen break the rules during games, they might hurt their competitors, team members and themselves. Many great players have to end their professional career due to the injuries and illnesses caused by illegal physical confrontation, which often happens to skilled athletes in soccer and basketball games. For example, Marco Van Basten, who won multiple honours in his twenties had no choice but to retire from football at the age of 31 because of long suffering from old wounds. Such early retirement of players is undoubtedly a pity to their clubs, fans and even their countries. As well as on the field, I believe that what sports players do off the playground is also important. Many excellent players are heavily exposed since they have numerous fans all over the world, which means that they can have a huge influence on the public. This is particularly true for those young people who tend to copy their idols’ lifestyle that is reported on the Internet. As a result, the misbehaviour of sportsmen and sportswomen, like excessive drinking, traffic violation, drug abuse, and domestic violence, would not only adversely affect the players’ reputation but also their young fans’ values. In conclusion, I disagree that there is no need to care about professional athletes’ behaviour since misbehaviour on the field or in the daily life may lead to safety issues for themselves and have a negative influence on the public.