Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is to admire athletes as role model, be it in the game of cricket, football or tennis. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns to the youngsters. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious consideration. There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that most adolescents imitate their role model's manner and attitude, therefore allowing athletes to behave in an unacceptable standard on or outside the field like brawling over insignificant things would undoubtedly create bad influence on their fans. Not only can this rude behaviour of sportsmen and women adversely affect their reputation, but can also have negative effects on their fans values. Needless to say, all these demerits have far-reaching impact on the public. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that accepting disrespectful manner of athletes to verbally assault their counterpart or aggressive attack would force families to stop watching a sports event which is a social activity for the whole family. Besides, such behaviour would end professional career of sportsmen and sportswomen. Hence, it is apparent why many are against accepting misbehaviour of athletes on or off the field. In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that the drawbacks of bad behaviour of athletes are indeed too dire to ignore.