Some people believe that telephone is the greatest invention of the last century.

Telecommunication device has assisted greatly in most of his human activities. Probably, this is the reason some individuals opine that the mobile phone is the most huge success in the last hundred years. Although, I agree that it is indeed a great technology but I also submit that other breakthroughs such as Automated Teller Machine, diagnostic devices, washing machines have competitive importance. Admittedly, phones have been employed in several fields of man's endeavours, it is may not be the best of all innovations. In other words, it has undoubtedly made interactions easier, not only between family but also among business associates both new and old. As a result, it is a weapon of economic growth of a nation because it aids online marketing, where goods are advertised, ordered and pickups are organised smoothly from any part of the world. In addition, it has also been found to be an essential tool in gathering information hence, useful academically to retrieve vital materials from the internet which catalyses research. For instance, every student in the tertiary institutions in Nigeria must possess a smartphone to deepen understanding. Nevertheless, it will be wrong to say mobile devices are the best where other technologies have been found to be equally useful. This is to say, machinery such as washing machines, diagnostic machines, automated teller machine amongst others have also assisted in making life worthwhile. Accidentally, humans will be dying increasingly when diseases are not detected and treated appropriately. Furthermore, ATMs have rescued so many from cash embarrassment. Coincidentally, it has reduced waiting time in the banking halls and availed clients the time to invest in their businesses. Additionally, washing machines have decreased the incidence of people developing health issues due to excessive washing of clothes. In conclusion, in spite of the usefulness of telephones in various fields, I would argue that it is not the most impressive discovery as others such as equipment for diagnosing, washing machines, etc, have been discovered to be at par with it.