Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An ancient quote on art says “Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder”, is an apt way to sum up the current debate on the relevance of art in schools. While some people feel art is needed, others feel the time wasted in learning arts could be better used by students. I personally feel that arts studies should continue in schools albeit with some changes in the curriculum. Many people consider arts as not only a leisure activity but also a means to develop creative thinking and convey important messages. When students learn art forms such as dancing, singing or painting, it is a scientifically proven fact that their brains become more capable of creating and comprehending new ideas. Also, art is a medium of expressing important social, cultural or economic messages. For instance, the Chinese economy is symbolized by a dragon and is therefore viewed as being a future economic powerhouse. Hence, art has more relevance contemporarily than previously assumed and needs to remain in the school syllabus. While that is one view, from another viewpoint art in schools wastes students’ time which could have been better spent in learning subjects such as business, mathematics or science. Also, not every child is interested in learning art forms. For instance, a student inclined towards economics with no inclination to arts is definitely wasting his/her time painting clay pots at school. So, there are equally valid arguments against teaching arts at school. Hence I feel, though art has its relevance in schools, the manner in which art is taught needs to be changed. Instead of making arts related subjects compulsory for all grades, these could be offered optionally at higher grades