Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

There is a highly controversial issue relates to whether it is vital for children to learn art or not. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion. On one side of the argument, there are many people who argue that art is an important subject for children to learn at school. The main reason why they hold this belief is because art can foster children’s creativity which is very fundamental to children’s career prospects. In order words, through drawing and painting, youngsters can develop creative thinking which can be applied in any fields of careers in the future. Hence, they could be very successful in their professions thanks to high level of creativity. For example, currently I am an English teacher of young children. Teaching children English, I have to be very creative enough to draw pictures to illustrate new vocabulary on the board every day. I see that my drawings and creativity were developed thanks to previous art lessons when I was in primary school. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often claimed that joining lessons of art at school is such a waste of time. People often have this opinion because art is not a compulsory element of many professions from which people can get high salaries. Nowadays, most of parents do not want their children to become artists, but professionals such as doctors or employees in Information Technology so that they can have high income. Hence, those parents do not want their children to spend time on art subject which is not important to their future careers. Instead, they force their children to make use of their time to study subjects that are helpful and directly related to their orentied professions in the future. In conclusion, I believe both points of view have their own merits. On balance, however, I feel that it is crucial for children to participate in lessons of art at school because it can help children improve their creativity which is a vital ability to get success in the future.