News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Over the last few years, the trend of depicting pictures in news items on television and newspaper has increased. While, some feel that this is not the most powerful ways to gauge the audience as they are more interested in the content itself. I, however, disagree and feel that the images shown helps the reader to more relate this with the actual story. To begin with, the photos and graphics helps the reader in better understanding the plot of the story. Although, I concede that, sometimes it become too redundant but, as the reader’s mind is often filled with curiosity, so the pictorial shown in newspaper and TV creates interest in further digging out the story. For that purpose, a reader may turnover to other page. Consequently, it often benefits both the reader and the writer in understanding the story in better ways. A good illustration of this is the picture of a crime scene published in newspaper which can hint the reader about what will be inside in the story. As a result, individuals who are often interested in these types of stories may get more engaged in reading the story. Another point to consider is that people are often get bored by reading the contents only. While, photos play a vital role in gauging the audience to read the news item further. In other words, the photographs and graphics create a fun and thrilling experience in the mind of the readers. Thus, they find the news story more interesting if shown with the visuals. For example, an individual who is more interested in cricket will pursue the story if shown the picture of his favorite player. However, I acknowledge that few pictures are inappropriate to publish because of the lack of control on the viewers. For instance, pictures of a rape or crime should not be published as sometimes children may watch them and it may create a detrimental impact on young children’s mind. In conclusion, although, few believe that the readers are more interested in news stories and they more focus on that. But, I opine that the audience is more interested in stories which appears to be published with visuals as it helps them in comprehending the plot of the news item.