Many people strive to maintain a successful career and happy family life at the same time. What problems can this situation cause? What are the possible solutions?

Many try to have success at work and want to spend time with their loved ones. The main problem this cause is exhausting and most viable solution of this problem is public awareness warning people about the dangers of working too hard. The principal problem associated with trying to spend time with your loved ones and be a success in your career is people tend to get exhausted. This exhaustion occurs when people both mentally and physically tired to such an extent that they no longer continue. The result of this is often physical and mental health problems, which in turn can cause the breakdown of a family or poor performance at work. For example, a recent government survey found that 323 CEO’s felt they do not spend enough quality time with their children because they often felt too tired when they returned home. To tackle this problem government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about dangers of working too hard. Many people are afraid to ask their boss for work off due to stigma surrounding people who work less than the normal working hours and many people do not disclose this problem in front of their family. This public awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more open and honest about it. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in 23 decreases in people calling in sick to work because of mental fatigue. In conclusion, striking balance between work and family is a major issue that can result in people working themselves so hard that they can’t perform either role, however it can be addressed through educating people about the dangers.