Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Many people consider that it is important for children to learn art at school, however, there are others who opine that it is totally a wastage of student's study time. In my opinion, art is certainly as important as any other subjects because it helps younger children in learning history and in expressing themselves. On the one hand, art is considered a useful skill as it allows children to learn about the history and cultural heritage of their nation. It is a well-known fact that the children better learn through images than text, therefore teachers use various art pieces to explain them many historical events. According to a survey, it was found that children who learned the story through snapshots were able to retain that information for longer duration as compared to others. Additionally, children learn to express themselves via creativity. Art helps children in communicating many concepts which they otherwise find difficult to explain. On the other hand, many people believe that art is not an important subject to be taught at school because it does not add any value to their profile as other subjects such as math and science does. Simple mathematics calculations are always used in later stages of life, so it is important to learn the math at school level, but this is not the case with Art. Moreover, art does not help children in finding a job when they reach adulthood. This skill is not given much weightage by any employer. In conclusion, art may not help children in getting a good job or may not be used in practical life when they reach adulthood, but in childhood it helps children immensely by encouraging them to learn about their culture.