In recent years, the number of children participating in sports and other physical activities has decreased. Identify some of the resulting problems and state ways to address them.

Extra curricular activities play an integral role in children's lives. Since the last decade, there has been a decline in the number of adults who participate in sports events. The main problem with this is that they become obese and their hidden talent is overlooked. However, a possible solution might be for teachers to reduce the homework and parents encourage their children to participate. One problem which stems from not taking part in any activity is obesity. Having said that, after spending eight to nine hours in school children have to do their homework along with some extra classes. This burden usually prevents them from participating in any sports event like cricket, football, running and tennis. As a result, they put on their weight. To resolve this issue, teachers should teach in a way that least homework should be provided to them, which enables them to pay attention to recreational activities. For example, a survey conducted by the New York Times in April 2019 showed that the majority of adults who take part in different events are more active and fit compared to those who do not. Another problem due to not taking part in curricular activities is neglecting hidden talent. Every adult possesses a unique talent inside him or her such as athlete, swimmer, dancer, etc. however, they are often ignored by their parents owing to the heavy burden of studies. To tackle this problem, parents should encourage their offspring by setting a time limit to pursue their desired field. So that their talent will be utilized and appreciated. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar of India who became well-known cricketer in the world is because his parent recognized his talent in childhood and supported him to be a cricketer. In conclusion, restricting children from taking part in sports activities can cause obesity and ignore hidden talent. Only when teachers reduce the homework and parents value their children hidden talents, will be the problem solved.