Some people think that all the lawbreakers should be taken into the prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. (for example, doing some work or learning some skills in the community).

People are always arguing how to punish the person who broken the law. Some citizens say they should be put into the prison, however, others hold different opinions, such as requiring community service for people convicted of misdemeanour. From my perspective, a flexible solution is highly recommended. Putting the criminals in jail is necessary for who seriously violate the law. All convicts deserve punishment to varying degrees, and only by depriving them of the their freedom for a period of time can they truly examine their own conscience realise the price for their errors. Besides, for those who commit felonies such as robbery or murder, confinement can effectively prevent them from repeating their evils. No one can imagine what will happen if a ferocious killer is at large. However, restriction of their freedom is not the ultimate goal of prisons. In order to transform those convicts into good citizens, such as low knowledge promotion, job training, and community services are still necessary. Sometimes, poverty and ignorance cause some people to commit crimes, but they are might not so evil. If they come out of prison with the skills and knowledge to survive, they should no longer do things that harm society. On the other hand, Prison operation requires big government spending, therefore putting all lawbreakers in jail is unreasonable. Thus the person who violates the law badly, such as breaching of traffic rules or damage to environmental hygiene, punish them to do some services in the community should be a better idea. In conclusion, who to punish the lawbreaker should depend what they have done and putting them in jail is not the only solution. Hence providing an opportunity for them to learn skills or knowledge is necessary for their life change.