In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

Adolescents are not allowed to be outdoors unless they are supervised by an adult after a certain time at night, in several areas of the United States. The idea of imposing this ‘curfew’ cannot be totally refutable. In my opinion, restricting the teenagers to be out of doors at late night can ensure their safety up to a certain extent. However, this cannot be practical in all the scenarios, especially when there is a need to go outside at any point of the night due to some emergency situation which may arise. To begin with, in several areas of the US, the crime rates are exceeding in the recent days. We are aware that the anti-social activities such as drug trafficking, robbery, kidnapping and rape culture are at the peak during the late night. Adolescents are more susceptible to be a victim of the aforementioned activities due to their physical weaknesses or lack of awareness of the same. In recent days, a huge number of teenagers were reported to be harassed by pedophiles at late night, which affected dramatically to their physical, emotional as well as mental wellbeing. Such situations can be controlled when they are accompanied by an adult, or they are advised to be indoors after a certain time at night. In addition, imposing a curfew to be outdoors can have several disadvantages too. Especially, when the parents of these teenagers are employed for shift duties, or if they work in a 24-hour medical center where they have to work during the late nights. In such conditions, the adolescents will be forced to go outdoors in case of any medical emergency or to run errands, irrespective of the time. There are chances that any unavoidable situations may arise at any point of the day or night. Therefore, imposing a curfew may result in a negative impact than the advantages. To conclude, imposing a curfew for the adolescents to be outdoors after a particular time at night without the supervision of an adult cannot be totally agreeable, since it has its own advantages and disadvantages. I opine that the Government has to come up with more acceptable ideas to decrease the crime right without stripping away the fundamental right of every human being to move freely within the country at any point of time as per their desire.