Our personalities are pre-determined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.

Personality is unique to an individual person. It is argued by scientists that the genetic composition influences our character and nothing can change our nature. In my opinion, I agree that genes play an important role in shaping our identity. However, environment is important too. Sequence of genes in DNAs is essential for the external characteristics of the body. Every person is different because of the change in genetic pattern, which is distinct for everyone. There are certain traits which are based on genomes, which cannot be altered, such as decision making and self-control. To illustrate, a study conducted at Harvard University, proves that 30-60 percent of our character relies on inheritance chromosomes. Therefore, these play a crucial part in determining our emotions. On the other hand, the atmosphere we live in is essential. The environment in which a child is born and raised makes a great impact on his nature. Usually children tend to follow their parents and carry in their footsteps. The surroundings, friends and other people you hang out with also influence the way we think and act. For example, Extroversion is a personality dimension that shows how people interact with the world. Some people are extroverts and outgoing while others are introverts and reserved. Hence, our inner self is also altered by the external world. In conclusion, some scientists argue that our characteristics are already decided based upon the genetic composition and nothing can change it. In my opinion, although it is the key to human nature, but, however, environmental conditions play a vital role too.