Some people think that all the lawbreakers should be taken into the prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives, (for example, doing some work or learning some skills in the community).

It is true that the penitentiary system proved to be not perfect with its current ways of treating the criminals. In addition, the outcomes of their treatment in prisons are often regrettable and to not match the expectations of the society. In my opinion, alternative ways in dealing with the lawbreakers are much better than a conventional institution. Firstly, the common prisons are not concerned with the results of their influence on the criminals. While they utilize all the possible measures to restrain and punish their patients, they undermine a likelihood for these people to remedy themselves. Moreover, those sorrowful humans become more criminalized after leaving the prisons than before. Although, they are made to perform some jobs inside the prisons, any possible positive outcomes associated with this work are effectively undermined by the punitive attitude to them. For instance, the majority of the criminal activity at present is accounted for the people who had already been to the prisons. Secondly, it is widely argued that a better treatment of lawbreakers may convert them to the better people. Even though they committed crimes, these humans still have the right to rehabilitate themselves. Furthermore, after having left prison, they should return to normal social life without putting an additional burden on its lawful members. Having learned some skills in the normal community and without any pressure from the penitentiary system, they are less likely to return to the criminal path. For example, recent research has shown that learning news profession in prison prevents criminals from continuing doing crimes again. In conclusion, there are many problems perceived in connection to the habitual treatment of the lawbreakers in the modern society. Provided that the criminals pay their price by being convicted for the crimes made, alternative ways in treating them allow the society to diminish the criminal activities in the future.