Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Children are the citizens of tomorrow and their characters are built on their spirit to compete and cooperate. There is always a discussion of being competitive versus co-operative and its importance in their future life. This essay will discuss about the both the views and my personal preference of being competitive rather than cooperative. "To compete" is the basic nature of the human being as we are designed to fight for our survival, be it with any person, animals or our inner-self. The instinct of the competition motivates oneself to strive for excellence and perform the miracles or the unthinkable feats which are considered beyond human reach. On the flip side being over engrossed in competition sometimes can lead to deviating from the path, which results in indulging in unfair practice to win at any cost. For example, the great pole vaulter Sergey Bubka broke his own pole vault record for 26 times and his willingness to fight his own fear and strength is all about the tough and competitive childhood he has gone through. The other viewpoint of being co-operative helps to build a conducive environment that shows the false dawn of camaraderie and harmony, but one tends to get satisfied with the under par achievements. There is a very thin line between co-operation and compromise. Children tend to get satisfied with lesser results and they are unable to explore their true potential because of lack of motivation. For example, we rarely see great games with friendly matches where the team is just not motivated enough to play true to their potentials. In my opinion, we need to instill the right sense of competition in children to make them a future-ready, willing to take all the challenges of future head down.