Some people think that a good way to reduce crime is longer sentences. others may think there are alternatives for this problem

It has been seen in many parts of the world the crime rate is elevating daily as a result many people are becoming victims of crime. This is because; the attackers are often illiterate or do not have parental guidance. A portion of people state that the best solution to shun this issue is to increase the prison span and others cite that there are other possible solutions for this problem. I stand with the experts who think that there are alternatives. On one hand, people think that if the sentence of the prison is increased it will be a good solution for the problem. As they will spend most of the time in jail on par with the crime they have done, they will be working under jurisdiction and learn to live a normal life after the period. It has been seen in many Indian jails that people who served longer sentences have changed and living a respectful after prison life. The main reason of this change is because, they fear that if they involve in any criminal activities, they will be behind bars again. Thus, people suggest that increasing the span of sentence will cut the crime. On the contrary, there are factions of experts who believe that there are many other alternatives can mitigate this trouble. For every problem there will be a simple solution, instead of opting for harder approach which make the offender permanently evil, they can be sent to some detention centers where he or she can avail the opportunity of learning about true values and morals, which is easy. Increase of sentence time will take valuable time the person; instead he can send to counseling centers where he can learn ethics. The root cause of this problem is unemployment and parental guidance. If the government provides adequate jobs and caretakers spend a quality time to teach their children about good and bad, they will not look for doing crime. Therefore, these are some of the alternative that can be substituted in the place of increasing span of sentence. Weighing up both sides of discussion, although increment of term in prison will shun the crime, it will not change the person attitude. The alternatives which were given above will definitely change the behavior and make him a responsible citizen. Hence, I opine that there are several other approaches apart from increasing term in jail to mitigate this plaguing issue.