Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime.

Crime rates are at an all-time high in recent times. While many people consider longer prison sentences as the way to go, others perceive that other methods of punishment can give better causal outcomes. This essay will discuss the importance of jail time and explore other potential alternatives along with my personal belief that the punishment should meet the intensity of the crime. Certainly, serving prison time is very crucial to reflect the graveness of the crime. Prison allows the offenders to repent and ponder about the impact of their crime by indulging in psychotherapy, manual labor, and menial jobs. In fact, sentencing criminals who have committed dreadful actions for an extended period seems like an appropriate justice of law enforcement. This will refrain them from committing further crimes and protect people from such individuals. Serial killers, for instance, who are sociopaths, must be given a life long imprisonment for their actions. For this reason, giving long sentences can reduce crime rates, and I believe that brutal and violent criminals should be placed in jails. Nonetheless, imprisonment is just one of the methods of punishment. On the other hand, alternative tactics can be employed to reform criminals. Instead of long sentences, encouraging charity work, detention, and fines can reduce the criminal mentality amongst mild offenders. More often, enforcing children from juvenile homes to volunteer at a soup kitchen and a shelter home can remodel their personalities and suppress their criminal instincts. Evidently, these methods of punishment have shown to help minor offenders refrain from redoing crimes. Therefore, I support such methods for minor crimes. In conclusion, people debate about the right form of punishment, either longer sentencing or other methods of reinforcement, for the benefit of crime reduction. Though both are appropriate, in my opinion, the propensity of the crime should decide the nature of the punishment.