Some people think space research is a waste of money. The government should spend that money on the improvement of people’s living conditions. What is your opinion on this IELTS topic?

It is being argued that governments exhaust their funding on researching the space, yet it has become ineffective. People claim that more money should be poured into improving people’s living quality on the other hand. I, personally, agree with this opinion as enough space exploration has been done and, sadly, we see our world suffering from real-time problems, such as poverty and hunger where additional money could easily fix these issues. To start with, space research has been continuing for about a century now and while we were able to achieve some remarkable results during this period, for example to visit the moon or explore other planets, no new evidence has been obtained in the last decade though money spent on space exploration has doubled in this time, a recent study shows. It simply tells us that sending astronauts and spending millions on new spaceships is a waste of time and money, therefore should be considered to be allocated on more important problems happening here, on the Earth. So many societies suffer from running out of food, living in very poor conditions, not having clean water to drink, and even dying from treatable diseases. Governments should prioritise their funding on these issues first rather than continuing to spend on inefficient space exploration. A study showed that the US has spent over 1 billion of dollars just in one year’s time while exploring space even though only 10% of this money would have helped to fight the homelessness in the country. To conclude, I do acknowledge the benefits of space research results which were obtained in the past however I strongly think that funding should be reduced and appropriately spent more on managing people’s living conditions better to improve life here.