Some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong.

Subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are found to be difficult to study by children. It is thought by some that these subjects must be made optional instead of mandatory. I agree that such subjects must be made optional as it helps both children and teachers. Firstly, children can avoid subjects such as mathematics and philosophy which are complex and laborious to study. Children, who is forced to study these subjects, find difficulty in comprehending the nuances of the subject. They may end up spending too much time understanding and decrease their overall efficiency to study other subjects. This results in bad grades and can lead to loss of self-confidence and build anxiety. Additionally, children will have the freedom to study their favourite subjects. In other words, children can concentrate on subjects they enjoy and do not study other optional subjects. This gives children an early start to pursue the subject of their choice, therefore laying a road map for higher studies and their future. Besides, children enjoy the subjects they understand. This will encourage them to study. Difficult subjects need special attention from teachers. This might burden already overworked teachers. For example, a mathematics teacher might have to take extra tuition for children weak in mathematics, leading to exhaustion. This can cause overall degradation in teaching performance and can cost children their quality education. Moreover, schools might need to hire more teachers to overcome teacher exhaustion, burdening the school funds. In conclusion, schools should get rid of compulsory subjects and make them optional, therefore benefiting children and teachers. By making them optional, we are encouraging children to study and reducing the burden on the schools and teachers.