Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes.

One of the most debatable issues in the last decade has been the individual's contribution to the society. Some people think that financial support, in the form of taxes, is a sufficiet contributation, while others believe that citizens have much more responsibilities to the community. In my opinion, people have many obligations, aside from taxes, to their surroundings in order to maintain a well balanced society. The most important aspect in maintaining a good and functional society is financial support. This support is gained through taxes paid to the administration by the local citizens. By using these funds, the government is able to maintain good infrastructures, such as public transportation, clean cities and public play grounds for children. According to the New York Times, for examples, cities with larger funds have better education systems, less crime, and higher paid salaries. This demonstrates, that local taxes are directly associated with a better society, and hence represents the most important contribution given by the local people. In contrast to the above mentioned, other people believe that besides taxes, there are other, non financial obligations, such as volunteer work, that are much more important. Through volunteer work, like assisting the elderly in hospitals and cooking for homeless people, we are able to generate a better, more tolerant environment, and teach our children how to contribute to our surrounding. As a result, we are able to improve our community, and generate a better society. In conclusion, while taxes are important, there are other activities people can do, namely volunteer work, which contribute to our society. I believe that by actively spending time helping needed people, rather than just paying taxes, we contribute much more, becuase we engage and communicate with other people. Consequently learning about our surroundings much more. We should be proactive and contribute.