Some people think that paying taxes is a big enough contribution to society, while other think people have more responsibilities as a member of society than only paying taxes.

It is true the fact that many individuals are of the view that contributing to the nation as a taxpayer as their only responsibility, whereas, others argue that the nation expects more from each citizen. In my opinion, even though paying tariffs is a major factor for the stability of a country's economy, I believe every person has a role to play in terms of protecting the environment. To begin with, taxpayers play an indispensable role in a country when compared to the other sources of income for the government. In other words, it is an undeniable fact that the state is dependent on the levy which is paid by everyone, and this makes people think they have no other contributions for the betterment of society. In Sri Lanka, for instance, some union members in the government sector have submitted a letter to the president requesting to release them from the vehicle import tax, and they claim that it is unfair to pay this since they are paying enough money for the government. On the other hand, man is accountable to society in other ways, such as fighting against environmental pollution. This means, nowadays the world is facing a dramatic increase in man-made contamination than many years ago due to the ignorance of people's responsibility for our planet. Despite people pay taxes for environmental conservation, it is our utmost priority to protect our atmosphere for the next generations. For example, research suggests that if we could work on reducing the single-use of plastics now, there will be a decline in the production of polythene by the dawn of the next decade which will make sure to decrease ocean pollution. In conclusion, while people in the community have a major role to ensure a better world through reducing pollution, some individuals claim that they have not left with any other contribution to the society other than paying taxes.